Mandie in Mexico

On Friday, February 17, 2012, I will be going to Mexico.

If you were a blog reader last year at this time, you will remember that I went to Mexico then as well. I’ve actually been a three more times before that, too. A team of 17 (?) or so of us will be flying to Mexico City, and then driving three hours north to a place called Pan de Vida, which is located just outside of a large city called Queretaro.

Pan de Vida is a Christian orphanage run by a Canadian organization called Children of Hope. This organization supports two orphanages – Pan de Vida and Dulce Refugio – and one community centre – Casa Otimi. If you’d like to read more about the orphanage and the organization, visit their website at http://childrenofhope.info/

To say that Pan de Vida has impacted my life is a vast understatement. Those children have helped form my heart into what it is today. The people I’ve traveled with have greatly influenced my story and have helped me learn what it means to follow Jesus in a broken world.

Getting ready to go on a trip like this is always a bizarre experience. We need help. We can’t do it on our own. We need support, both financially and prayerfully. The people who donate money to send us on our way, and the people who pray their butts off while we prepare and leave on our trip, are just as much a part of the mission as we are. We are the hands and feet, but they are the hearts, and bodies and brains and wallets and all of those other parts that make up the body, and make this whole thing happen. We need help. We can’t do it on our own.

I hate this part of the trip. I like to think of the work we’ll get done (concrete, painting, interlock brick, maintenance, tiling!) and the kids we get to love when we’re there. I like to think of the trip, but I hate thinking about the money. It’s humbling to ask for help.

But this is me asking for help. I’m entering into a month of fundraising mayhem. We have a team goal of $40, 000 that will go towards the cost of the trip, building supplies and whatever project needs to get done around the orphanage. In past years we’ve paid for new stoves, vehicle repairs, tools, a new septic system and countless other smaller items. The money we raise here goes a long way in Mexico. $40, 000 is a lot of money, but we’re confident God will provide for us and enable us to make this trip happen.

If you are local, consider coming to my fundraiser event. I have lots of funny friends, so I’m hosting a comedy night on January 21st. If we’re not Facebook friends and you want info, leave a comment and I can get you involved. It will be FUN, I can guarantee that.

If you’re not local, consider donating to our team. In the past you would have had to send us a cheque, but this year, you can donate online.

– Click on this link: http://childrenofhope.info/Getinvolved/Bepartofateam.html
– Log in to PayPal
– Once you log in, etc, there will be a “Special Instructions” section.
– Click “Add
– In the box type Waterloo Mennonite Brethren – Amanda Bast. (WMB is the name of the church team, Amanda Bast is the team member you are supporting). This way, Children of Hope knows which team the money is intended for, and I will get a list of my supporters.
– Submit your payment
– Smile

I don’t like asking for money, but I just did. On my blog. It’s WEIRD, guys. But this place and these kids are a huge part of my heart, and who I am. It’s bigger than me, it’s bigger than the junk I normally write here. I am asking you to be a part of this adventure and to consider joining me as I jet off to Mexico. Consider making a donation. Keep us in your prayers.

As I get closer to my departure, I’ll be sure to keep you updated. You can also click on “Pan de Vida” on the sidebar to read about some of my past trips.

Thank you, dear Internets, for being a place where I can share little pieces of my heart.

7 thoughts on “Mandie in Mexico

  1. Pingback: Mandie in Mexico | Mandie Marie

  2. I love this! I’m also going to Mexico on February 17th, to Zacatecas, Mexico, about 4 hours north of Querétaro, to work in an orphanage I’ve been going to for years. I won’t be able to financially support you, but please know that you and your team will be in my prayers. These trips make such a difference, not only in the lives down there, but also on the people going down. God is going to do some amazing things with you and your team down there, and my team and I will be lifting you guys up!

  3. Pingback: Pictures That Need Not Be Explained | Amanda Bast

Leave a Reply

