Summer Adventure Cool Times with Tacos

I’m going to need some prayers. I can’t do it without your support. On July 11th, I will forced to wear the same outfit as both of my parents. In public. On an airplane. And then in a foreign country.

Y’all. We’re going to Mexico again.

I am headed back to Pan de Vida this summer! This will be my seventh(!!!) trip, and I couldn’t be more excited. I’m headed down with a team mostly comprised of people from British Columbia, a few from Ontario, and BOTH of my parents. I’ve been on five trips with my Dad, and we’ve finally convinced dear Mama Bee to join us. Let the summer adventure cool times with tacos begin!

If you know what Pan de Vida is and what it means to me, you can understand my excitement. For those of you that don’t know, Pan de Vida is an orphanage in Queretaro, Mexico, three hours north of Mexico City. It’s a place that has stolen a piece of my heart and changed my life for a number of reasons.

While in Mexico, we could be painting, pouring concrete, laying interlock brick, tiling floors, or general maintenance work. We’ll do whatever needs to be done. Along with Pan de Vida (where we’ll be staying), we have the opportunity to visit a sister orphanage down the road (Esperenza Para Ti). We will also visit Otimi House, a community centre for the indigenous people in the mountains of Mexico. If that sounds familiar, it’s because I wrote about it once.

I’m letting you know this for a few reasons.

1. We need prayer.

2. We need financial support.

3. We need more prayer.

The biggest and easiest thing you can do is pray for us and our team. Pray for safety, protection, team unity, for our hearts to be changed and broken, and for our health. I’ve been five times already, but the trip always challenges and breaks me in a new way each time I go. Pray that we’ll be prepared for what we encounter.

If you’ve got a bunch of extra money you don’t know what to do with, consider donating to us. Even if you don’t have money falling out of your butt, consider supporting us. Follow the steps below to donate online. We’d very much appreciate anything you can give.

Please, support us during our adventure! If this blog post doesn’t convince you, here is an adorable picture:

mexxx
If you do donate online you’ll get a (Canadian) tax receipt. Just go here, choose “July 2014 Team” in the drop down menu and follow the steps. Then somehow let me know you donated and I’ll get your information and everything will be peachy.

**If you’re American and you would like a tax receipt, it’s an entirely different process. Let me know if you’re from the US and want to go about this.

Thanks for being a part of this super fun amazing summer adventure cool time (with tacos).

Love and Internet hugs,

Amanda

One thought on “Summer Adventure Cool Times with Tacos

  1. I would consider making a fundraising video to help urge people’s money out of their wallets. Fun videos usually do the trick, and you seem to have nailed that area. Good luck in Mexico and drink water…just not theirs…

Leave a comment