My Return to Television

I was once a television commercial star. This commercial featured my cat Muffin and me lounging on a blanket in front of a fireplace. I was wearing a pink fuzzy housecoat. Muffin was not. I was the perfect actress because I was precocious, intelligent and looked a good three years younger than I actually was. Those are the makings of a child star, right there. People raved about my performance and called it “the most moving television commercial of 1992.”

Then years later, I appeared in an ad that was printed in the Yellow Pages of the prestigious Waterloo Region phone book. Lots changed between my two appearances. I had grown up and developed an allergy to my dear cat Muffin. I had ditched the housecoat. Because of my intelligence and artistic flair, you could not even tell I was wearing pajama pants under my jeans. Bravo, Amanda. Bravo. Here you could see me elegantly and gracefully changing a furnace filter. It was a touching piece of work, and one that will remain burned in memories for many years to come.

This past March, I made my stunning return to Canadian television. This time, I was cast as “studio audience member”. It was a true honour, and one that I’ll remember for decades. Please watch and be inspired by my two separate appearances below.

First, here I am supporting Olympic gold medalist Jennifer Jones.

Screen Shot 2014-04-11 at 6.08.04 PM

And next, sharing the spotlight with Canadian singer/songwriter and Twitter superstar Jann Arden.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 1.11.25 PM
In the interest of staying humble and down to earth, I’d like to thank all of the people in my life that made this possible. I couldn’t do it without you. Shout out to Mom, Dad, my siblings, my mentors, my cheerleaders, my friends, my amazing coworkers, my Internet family and my church family. You are truly an inspiration. I get to live out my dreams because of all of you’ve done. This is for YOU! I am so blessed!

 

5 thoughts on “My Return to Television

Leave a comment