I’m an Extrovert, Silly

Hey, here’s an article that will help me learn more about my introverted friends and students. I think it’s important to learn about people with totally opposite personalities to my own. I don’t want to overwhelm people with how extroverted I am. Let’s see what this article says.

“23 Signs You’re Secretly an Introvert”

1. You find small talk incredibly cumbersome.
Oh hey, me too! But really, does anyone actually like small talk? It’s painful. You don’t get to know someone just by talking about the weather. It’s terribly unproductive. I can understand that.

2. You go to parties -– but not to meet people.
Well, yeah. Of course. Why would you spend your night making small talk with a bunch of people when you can visit with people who already know you? Parties are for relaxing and hanging out with friends, not overloading your brain with new information.

3. You often feel alone in a crowd.
Crowds are just so overwhelming. You can’t have a good conversation in a crowd. You end up just running an internal dialogue in your head about what’s going on around you. When you can’t talk to the person you’re with, of course crowds can be lonely. That’s pretty straightforward.

4. Networking makes you feel like a phony.
You mean I have to make business cards? And market myself? And talk about why I’d be the good choice? Ugh, noooo thanks.

5. You’ve been called “too intense.”
Maybe, but not really. People know I’m laid back. Must be because I’m so extroverted.

6. You’re easily distracted.
I haven’t done the dishes in three days. I’m not messy or gross like that. I’m just reading this book and oh, I should paint those clothespins so they match my blinds and hey I wonder if I could find an alternative to a headboard on Pinterest because I’m getting tired of the tissue paper pompoms that I have hanging up there. But you can’t beat the $3.00 I spent on those supplies. Maybe I should just change the colour of the pompoms so that it flows better with the antique furniture in the room. Man, Grandma had good taste. I’ve got a lot of her furniture and dishes in my apartment. Oh. I haven’t done the dishes in three days.

7. Downtime doesn’t feel unproductive to you.
Because doing nothing is the best. Everyone knows that.

8. Giving a talk in front of 500 people is less stressful than having to mingle with those people afterwards.
The worst part of community theatre is when all of the old people come up to you afterwards and want to shake your hand because they think you’re some starlet, but really you’re just pretending to be someone else on stage.

9. When you get on the subway, you sit at the end of the bench -– not in the middle.
I DON’T LIKE BEING EXPOSED. I like to know who’s sitting beside me.

10. You start to shut down after you’ve been active for too long.
This is a long article, but it’s better than walking around the mall for hours. I can’t do that. Just take me home to my couch, please.

11. You’re in a relationship with an extrovert.
I seem to date really friendly guys who know everyone. Weird.

12. You’d rather be an expert at one thing than try to do everything.
No way. I want to do all of the things. ALL OF THEM.

13. You actively avoid any shows that might involve audience participation.
Uh no, actually. Improv is just the best.

14. You screen all your calls — even from friends.
I don’t have friends that call me. This is irrelevant.

15. You notice details that others don’t.
Like the wallpaper in the movie we just watched? Doesn’t everyone notice that? Hey, why is that guy getting chased by the cops? What did he do? I’m lost. But that wallpaper is really nice.

16. You have a constantly running inner monologue.
I have the best conversations with myself sometimes. I wish you could all hear them. Actually no, I don’t. That would be weird.

 17. You have low blood pressure.
The doctor told me to get up and walk around once because he thought something was wrong with me.

18. You’ve been called an “old soul” -– since your 20s.
Try since I was 10. I knew I wanted to adopt orphans from third world countries after I watched a 20/20 special. In like, grade 4? Orphans, guys.

19. You don’t feel “high” from your surroundings.
Ew. No. Unless my surroundings involve popcorn and a good magazine. Maybe the internet.

20. You look at the big picture.
Want to jump back to #18 for a second? Yeah, kind of a big picture person.

21. You’ve been told to “come out of your shell.”
Sometimes, maybe. I can be a little shy at first.

22. You’re a writer.
Yes I am, silly.

23. You alternate between phases of work and solitude, and periods of social activity.
Absolutely. A girl’s gotta recharge. Being with people all of the time is exhausting and I can only do it for so long until I’m totally burnt out and need to….

Oh.

That’s.

Um.

Well.

13 thoughts on “I’m an Extrovert, Silly

  1. I like that not all of them fit. We’re complex creatures.

    For instance, #8. I’d much rather mingle with them than have to talk in front of them. Because mingling is talking to 1 or 2 people at a time, where a crowd happens to be somewhere around you. That’s much less stressful than having 500 people paying attention to me at once. That’s 1000 eyes. Unless someone’s had an unfortunate medical condition or accident.

    On #21, what if you’ve been told to “come out of your shell” and also told “you talk too much.” Then what? Existential dilemma!

  2. Most of these apply to me 100%, with only a few exceptions. The one that really confuses me is #6 – introverts are easily distracted? Really? Most introverts I know (myself included) are pretty focused…

  3. Pretty much on the spot. I guess it would just depend on how far one falls towards one side of the spectrum. It was such a great day when I discovered I’m an introvert and not just an extremely weird quirky person . . . ok so I am still weird, but I have something to blame it on now.

  4. Can I please introduce you to my brother? He’s your perfect match….not to creep you out. Blonde, blue eyes, 6’2, single, childless, self employed, follower of Christ…and sounds just like you.

  5. Yeah, things like personality attributes rarely fall into nice, discreet categories. God simply didn’t design us in a mundane enough manner to please psychologists everywhere. We are also far more dynamic than we’re inclined to think. When I was younger I almost always scored towards extrovert in personality assessments. As I’ve matured I’ve become introverted, but even now I score very close to the mid-line (55/45). Now I self-identify as an introvert because I derive energy and satisfaction from intimate, meaningful investments with individuals and time for myself to think, read, write, pray, what have you. In the end we have to self-evaluate, because life scenarios also rarely fall into discreet, charming little categories like “yes/no.”

    As for the comment someone made earlier, I think distraction isn’t as much a function of introvert/extrovert as it is a function of judging/perceiving (if we’re talking along the lines of Myers-Briggs theory). Judging types like organization, resolution, and future planning, while perceiving types like spontaneity, new beginnings, and freedom. From reading some of your entries my intuition gives me the impression that you’re possibly somewhere along the lines of an INFP/ENFP. Take that with a grain of salt – I don’t know you, after all. :P If you aren’t familiar with the Myers-Briggs assessment you may find it a useful tool for self-criticism of your possible strengths and weaknesses. While we are all unique, we also share natural tendencies (both from being made in the image of God, and the sin condition) and so I find that psychology can be a useful tool for observing general trends in human behavior and endeavors.

    Hope this is helpful. Also, you’re good with the humorous self-dialogue. :)

  6. I’ve also found that in my work with the Myers-Briggs assessment that some people fit five categories or more with surprising accuracy, both on the I and E spectrum, ha. That’s always a hilarious conversation, “Well lets check ENFP….yup, yup. and yes. INTJ…yes, yes, yes. ISFP, yeah, absolutely, yes.” But I agree with you Christian, MBTI can help us to understand how to better relate with people who just tick different than we do, and when properly understood, can go a long way to clearing up murky waters. I was going to say Mandie, you seemed to jump from one side of the fence to the other a couple times. I actually came to comment and ask if you were familiar with MBTI. I think going through your type would make for a pretty funny post.

  7. I really enjoyed this article. I recently discovered your blog and genuinely enjoy reading it. I can totally relate to just about every item on that list – from feeling disingenuous when trying to “network” to absolutely relishing performing in front of a large crowd but actively avoiding interacting with them after a show or speech.

    I have read some estimates that put the US population as high as 75% extroverts to 25% introverts and in dealing with people in my office, it certainly feels that way at times. It can be hard being the minority in any group or society but being an introvert, at least in America, means largely being misunderstood and judged accordingly.

    Oh if only people would take the time to get to know us…

Leave a Reply

