I Know You!

My nephew is almost 13 months old. He’s getting a bunch of teeth. He’s almost walking. He babbles. He’s really good at eating. He laughs at his older sister, and shrieks with joy when she gives him a kiss. He blows really awesome snot bubbles. He makes a great pirate.


His grin can make his Aunt Tootie’s heart melt in under three seconds. His chill personality and sweet little heart make him the best cuddle buddy around. He’s a little reserved and doesn’t like it when his mom leaves the room, but we’re starting to come to an understanding, him and I. He doesn’t cry (as loud) when Aunt Tootie babysits.

Last week, I went in to my brother’s kitchen and found the wee one in his highchair, eating a piece of toast and throwing the rest of his dinner on the floor. He’s pretty good at that. He grinned when he saw me, and continued eating. As I waited for his dad to finish dinner, I had a book out to read to his sister. At one point, I looked at him from across the room and he was pointing straight at me. The dude’s finger was pointed at me and he had a big grin on his chubby face. I laughed and pointed back. “Hey buddy!” He shrieked with joy and continued eating.

Later in the week, I went out for breakfast with my sisters, my mother and all of the kids. Little mister was sitting across the large table, and threw me a grin when I looked over at him. I ate my breakfast and chatted with the women in my family and noticed him pointing at me again. Grinning and pointing at his Aunt Tootie.


He was pointing and grinning at me as if to say, “I know you! I cry when I’m with strangers (and sometimes my Papa), but I know YOU. I know who you are, and that makes me smile!” With one finger point, this little man wins my heart. I cannot wait until he is able to talk. How awesome will it be to hear my name on this sweet one’s lips?

He points at me. He knows me. He loves me.

I know someone else who does, too.

He knows my name. He knows the number of hairs on my head and freckles on my nose. He knows what my gifts are. He knows that I am warm and inviting. He knows that I love making people laugh. He knows that I desperately want to serve Him, but struggle to figure out how. He knows that sometimes I feel lost in the shuffle. He knows that I’m not sure where I fit in. He knows how much it means to me to not only be listened to, but to be heard. He knows I am tender and breakable. He knows my deepest desires. He knows what makes my heart ache. He knows what brings me joy. He knows what makes me really angry. He knows how very impatient I am. He knows what makes me restless. He knows that I am determined and stubborn. He knows that I am sassy. He knows that my sarcasm sometimes does a poor job of disguising my bitterness. He knows how I love to be in control of every tiny detail. He knows that I panic when I can’t plan things. He knows that I don’t like accepting criticism. He knows my brokenness. He knows that I don’t always trust Him. He knows that I am too stubborn to let him take the wheel. He knows painfully well every time I have run to something other than Him.

Yet,

He loves me,

He delights in me,

He calls my name,

He knows me.

I am His, and He is mine.

(Isaiah 43:1)

23 thoughts on “I Know You!

  1. Oh this made me cry. Sometime’s it’s terrifying, knowing that He knows us/me that well, and sometime’s it’s the only thing that keeps my going.

  2. The only thing I would change is “He knows that my sarcasm sometimes does a poor job of disguising my bitterness.”

    That hit a little close to my bitter house.

    Fabulous.

Leave a Reply

