I’m Pinterested

I’ve coined a new term.

Pinterested.

A number of months ago I signed up for Pinterest. I pinned pretty things. I pinned funny things. I pinned inspiring things. I pinned motivational things. I pinned yummy things. I pinned creative things. I pinned them with the intention of sometime doing these things. One day. But that elusive “one day” has not yet arrived.

I’ve spent hours on that site and I’ve accomplished nothing. Why? Because I am merely Pinterested.

Pinterested happens when you see something you like, get really excited about it, and promise you’ll do it later. It’s a new form of procrastination. Regular procrastination puts off things you don’t want to do. Pinterested procrastination puts off doing things that you actually DO want to do.

“Hey we should go out for coffee sometime!”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I should make all of the presents I give this year!”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I should write down my whole life story sometime!”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I should wash my car.”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I should start exercising because I feel so much better when I do.”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I should do that March Photo a Day thing.”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested.

“I want to see that new Jean Claude Van Damme movie.”
But you don’t. Why? You’re Pinterested, and it’s Jean Claude Van Damme.

I works on so many levels. SO MANY.

What are you Pinterested in?

16 thoughts on “I’m Pinterested

  1. Can we still use it if we’re not on Pinterest?

    I should finish or put away the items that have been sitting on the same bench for mmmfllmfflmmmbbll, but I don’t, because I’m pinterested.

    I firmly believe “because the dirt is what holds it together” is a valid excuse for not washing the vehicle though.

  2. I want to record some more of my music. I have all the gear and software I need, but I haven’t yet made the time because I’m Pinterested. I.e., I spend too much time watching stuff on Netflix.

  3. I should redesign my blog, learn to speak fluent Spanish, organize my sprinkle collection, wash my sheets. But I’m pinterested.

    I actually thought I would get hooked but it didn’t stick. I’m clearly not the kind of dreamer I thought I was and seem perfectly content with the current organization style of my pantry. Disappointing

Leave a Reply

