Monday Mishmash

Mondays are for mishmash.

This Monday, I have an overwhelming amount of mishmash. I made a list.

List of Mishmash

– By the end of the week, I will be in Mexico! Eating tacos! I have not yet starting packing, but I have written a list. Close enough.

– Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. Tomorrow I will be guest posting over at Rob Shep Dot Com. It’s a good one. And Valentine’s Day themed. Check that out tomorrow.

– Our team has reached our fundraising goal! Actually, we have gone beyond our fundraising goal! Thanking God for $42K! It’s going to go far. Watch here for updates to see how the money will be used. BIG thank you to all of you who have helped support us financially.

– I found myself feeling out of place (but still welcome) at a meeting this past week. I was the only non-mom. I resisted the urge to brag about the large amount of sleep I get on weekends because they were all so nice to me. If they weren’t nice mommies, I would have likely started a conversation about my lack of stretch marks.

– I worked more last week than I did in the month of February! Hooray for work!

– Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. To celebrate, I encourage you to read Leigh’s This Is How We Met series on her blog. It’s good and sweet and perfectly wonderful.

– Thanks to Dropbox and some wonderful friends, I have approximately 15.3 hours of new music. I am very much looking forward to travel time.

– Mister Stanton Martin is moving across the country. I had a moment of “aw, I’ll miss that guy” until I realized that he’s still an internet friend, regardless of his place of residence. We’ll still have Twitter. Welcome to closer to Canada.

– I taught a fellow shorty my go-to comeback I used in elementary school. When someone calls you short, respond with, “You’re ugly, and I can grow” until you are no longer able to grow, then the last part can get changed to, “and I can wear heels.”

– I never know where the period is supposed to go. Before or after the quotation marks? I know it goes before if someone is talking, but since this is a phrase, I feel like the period should come after. Before or after? I do not know.

– This weekend, while wearing an oddly coloured (but wonderfully designed!) mission team t-shirt, I thought, “Man, I have a lot of ugly team t-shirts.” I would one day like to be a part of a team of any sort that prides itself on really nice t-shirts. Even if it’s a Team Nice T-Shirt team. I’d be on board.

– Can I be serious for just a second here? No? Okay. I wanted to start this list off with I FEEL LIKE I’M DYING but I held back (you’re welcome). I do feel rather awful. In fact, I’ve felt awful since midsummer. YES. It’s been a long time. Today I’m having a “if I feel like this in a week, I have no idea how I am going to get out of bed and eat Mexican food with a smile on my face, let alone mix and pour concrete in the hot sun all day” day. I am frustrated. This type of stuff often happens right before missions trips and often during trips and can get in the way. I’m praying that it won’t. Your prayers are greatly appreciated as well. I’ll give you a high five the next time I see you.

– This just in: there are talks of a possible Air Canada strike at the end of this week. When we’re planning to fly. On an Air Canada flight. So. If you could pray for that, too. We’d appreciate it.

– I doubt that I’ll have [much] internet access while I am in Mexicola, but there might be little tidbits of something posted along the way.

-This is the end of the Mishmash.

Any mishmash to add to my list?

10 thoughts on “Monday Mishmash

  1. I’ve always been told the period/punctuation goes before AND after quotation marks. For example: During last week’s Friday Field Notes, E shouted, “Watch out for the BOUNTY HUNTER!”.

    • Yes, but that is dialogue. I think it’s different if it’s not dialogue. Example:

      The sign read “Now Hiring”.

      The period would go after because it’s not dialogue. I think we are both right. We need a nerdier grammar nerd up in here.

      • At your service.

        For an actual textual or verbal quotation, the period that’s within the quotation negates the need for one outside the quotation marks.

        The lady said “We’re now hiring.”

        For things that are not actual quotations, the water is muddied. Americans and Brits differ, so ask yourself with whom you, as a Canadian, more closely align yourself.

        American usage is counter-logic, but pro-convention, still placing the period within the quotation marks, ignoring the fact that such punctuation didn’t actually occur there in the first place.

        The sign said “Now Hiring.”

        On the other hand, the British are counter-convention, but pro-logic, always placing the punctuation in such a way as to be true to the material quoted.

        The sign said “Now Hiring”.

        I’m gonna go ahead and claim that it’s my “teacher’s heart” that compelled me to type all this, rather than any supposed nerdiness and A-Type personality traits.

    • FYI, that’s not really true. In your example, even though the quotation is exclamatory, but your statement about it is not, you would still omit the period, because the exclamation point does all of the punctuating you need.

      Don’t shoot the messenger.

  2. She admits “I never know where the period is supposed to go.”

    After a brief explanation, she continued, “. . . but since this is a phrase, I feel like the period should come after,” even though nearly all punctuation applicable to the phrase is to be held within quotation marks.

    The same rules for the period do not, however, apply to all other forms of enclosure (such as the parentheses, for instance).

    http://www.grammarbook.com/punctuation/quotes.asp

  3. As was pointed out above, we here in the country that keeps Canada from falling down are supposed to put the period inside the quotation mark even if it makes no sense. FWIW, I find myself wavering back and forth between doing what I’m supposed to do as an American and doing what actually makes sense. So…yeah. I’m a ton of help.

    YOU’RE WELCOME.

    • In my experience, short guys are usually exceptionally shy or exceptionally cocky and loud. You could just tell someone that they are ugly and leave it at that. I think that might win some friends.

Leave a Reply

