Debrief

This past weekend our young adults group went away on a retreat. You know the young adults group that meets in a skeezy country bar? Yes, that one. Forty four of us drove out to the country, packed into a lodge and spent some quality time together.

We laughed, we played, we learned, we prayed, we worshiped, we sang, and we ate. A lot.

I can’t possibly tell you everything about the weekend. I can tell you we played some icebreaker games so loud and intense, by the time I went to bed Friday night, my throat was sore and my voice was hoarse.

I can tell you that we did some scavenger hunting and my team (The Colonel Mustards)


annihilated the other teams even with a one minute penalty that we received because I decided to stand and chat with our guest speaker instead of run with my team (I’m not lazy…I’m RELATIONAL). I can tell you that the Nic[k]s lead worship with two acoustic guitars and blew the roof off of the place. I can tell you that Snuggies were worn. I can tell you we sat around a campfire and told fart stories. I can tell you that I had this silly look of glee plastered on my face the whole weekend.

I can tell you that our group is now very familiar with Tripp and Tyler videos. I can tell you that I heard some pretty phenomenal stories. I can tell you that Dave Mills is my new best friend. I can tell you that some of the attendees committed their lives to Christ. I can tell you that peoples’ lives were changed. Perspectives were shifted, including my own.

I can tell you that my generation struggles with identity. We don’t know who we are, we don’t know where we’re going and we don’t know what’s supposed to happen once we get there. We are lost, we are broken, we are desperately trying to figure all of this out. We look to people and things around us in an attempt to discover our identity, but we end up further lost and more broken. We don’t look for our identity in the right places.

What we need is a Saviour. We need to be scooped up and rescued. We need Him to come and get us. We need a Lord to be the leader of our lives and the director of our paths. When we finally see that our true identity is found in Christ alone, change will come.

It must.

It’s impossible to encounter Jesus and leave unchanged.

7 thoughts on “Debrief

  1. Two things.
    #1: I almost didn’t click on Dave Mill’s webpage because of the .ca. I assumed a prince’s lawyer would ask me for money if I did.

    #2: “It’s impossible to encounter Jesus and leave unchanged.” This is a much needed reminder.

    • 1. It’s Canadian. We don’t have a prince, only a Queen who lives across the ocean. Even though she is really only a symbolic leader, we still need her approval in order to pass laws.

      2. You have to preach the gospel to yourself every day. I fully believe this.

  2. Our grandparents generation fought in World Wars and lived through The Depression. Our parent’s generation landed on the moon and lived through the Cold War.

    Our generation lives on Facebook. The thirst for adventure is gone. We SHOULD be excited that the world is waiting at our fingertips, but really, we just use it as an excuse to not go anywhere or do anything.

    That’s why we have no identity. We live in the age of social media, and we don’t know what to do with it. We have no clue what its purpose is. Worldwide connections, yet we have no community in our own cities. We don’t grow up. We don’t really LIVE. We just exist.

    We don’t grow up. I could say that over and over again and the truth wouldn’t be lost.

    There, you think your post was full of partial thoughts? How about this comment?

    Also, you suck, IWE

  3. What does IWE stand for? I think I’m out of the loop with some meme here…

    It is sad that our ancestors got their identity from 3 wars and a Depression. Not that they had a lot of say in the matter. The moon walk was cool, though. But inspired by the Cold War.

    What does this say about “identity”? Are we living in so much plenty that we don’t know what to do with ourselves? Does compassion and unity and community only come in a big way when there is some external threat?

    I think I can agree about the not growing up part. I think that is due to a mixture of reasons, though.

    • I don’t think compassion and unity and community only happen in a big way when there is an external threat. I think it can happen when we’re entirely safe and comfortable. But, I do think an external threat makes it easier to be thankful for what we do have. When things are going good by our own accord, we often forget to thank the source of that goodness.

      I think what Joseph means…is that because we live in an era of luxury and abundance, we forget what it’s like to struggle. We don’t have to. This is not a bad thing, but it can be. We get lazy. We are apathetic. We don’t grow up. I agree with you Chris, that the not growing up is due to a mixture of reasons. But…also hard to fully explain in a comment :)

      Oh, and IWE = Internet Worst Enemy. Only a meme between Craven and I. We dislike each other. Essentially.

  4. Nicely put… and since it is hard to explain in a comment, maybe it’s an idea for a new blog post! *grin*

    Heavy topic, though.

    Thanks for the IWE definition! Can we hope for peace in our time? :-)

Leave a Reply

