You Can Dress Me Up…

…and you can take me out because I love costumes. I have an entire closet full of dress up clothes. I have taught lessons based on my crazy hat collection. Ernie Coombs has nothing on me.

I am very much looking forward to this weekend. A three party, three costume weekend. So to get you in the dress up mood, I present you with a slideshow of sorts (that you will have to scroll through yourself) of my costumes throughout the years. Some are better than others.

During the Napoleon Dynamite fad
Rasta-tastic
Your favourite Christmas gift
Second hand skate (dress each other up, then go roller skating):
The first appearance of the Dora sweaters
Newspaper runway model
Airport security
BINGO BABES. I still cringe in disgust looking at this.
The Princess and the P (I misplaced my crown for this photo)
Bride and Groom (yes, that is my mother’s wedding dress)
One of the three little pigs. I had straws in my apron.
Really trashy 80s outfit. That dress is velvet.
Alice in Wonderland (this was at my summer job)
One of last year’s costumes. It’s like a riddle…
Can you guess what I am?
Zombie prom

Now who wants to have a theme party?

23 thoughts on “You Can Dress Me Up…

  1. You made an entirely adorable Christmas Present. Also a very cute Alice. The White Rabbit is creeping me out, though. I don’t know why.

    I applaud your young wisdom in choosing the pig with the straw rather than carrying bricks around in your apron all night. Wise call.

    Also a very nice job on the zombie makeup.

    And you’re a B-52.

  2. For some reason this post reminded me of this song.

    And this song reminded me that it’s about time to break out the Sufjan Stevens and Rosie Thomas Christmas albums. :)

  3. Love these!! you are awesome! (the grannies, zombie prom, the newspaper one… good work!)

    for halloween one year I dressed up like a crazy sports fan with pom poms and a sign that said “GO CEILINGS!” Can you guess what I was…?

  4. A few comments:

    1- I was sad for your friend Kristi, but then remembered how all my students thought I was a man when I drew myself a goatee and stache. It happens.

    2- You bear a striking resemblance to Tina Fey in your trashy 80’s get up.

    3- You can really rock the side pony.

    4- I still don’t get the B-52 thing.

    5- Your pose in the first picture is incredible. I need to use that one in my next solo shot.

    • @katie The B-52s is an American singing group formed in 1976. In the red dress picture, Love Shack and Rock Lobster on the hand-held word balloons were both songs of theirs, although I’d never heard of Rock Lobster before her pic.

      According to Wikipedia (source of all knowledge), the B-52s were named after a particular type of beehive hairdo that resembled the nose-cone on an American B-52 bomber, because the drummer of the group had a dream about a band in which he was told the band’s name was the B-52s.

      There you go. :)

  5. I am just proud that I have been a part of EIGHT of these events, and that no one figured out that I am indeed in three pictures :D
    Also, Tag Rag: Crunchy Vibe.

Leave a Reply

