I Need a Woman

Yeah. A woman.

I have lots of strong, beautiful women in my life. I am unbelievably thankful for them. The women in my life I interact with most are at the same age and stage as me. This is a good thing. I love people to share my life with.

When I was first starting university, I was involved in young adult leadership, but I was one of the few youngins on the team. I knew a lot of older women who relentlessly spoke Biblical truth into my life. I learned a lot from them. These woman were older, wiser and firmly rooted in scripture. Many of these women have moved away (and have become doctors?! Amazing). I miss these women.

This year I find myself in a similar leadership position, but I’m one of the older ones. And I’m panicking. I can’t do this. I don’t know how to do this. I know nothing about scripture. Where my older ladies at?

I need a woman.

I’m praying for a woman. I’m praying for a woman who has more life experience than I do, but isn’t going to be like a mother to me (I already have a mother and no one could top her!). I am praying for a woman who is in a committed and healthy marriage. I am praying for a woman that can offer fresh perspective to my life. I am praying for a woman who is wise. I am praying for a woman who is a leader. I am praying for a woman who is deeply rooted in scripture. I’m praying for a woman who is willing to study the Bible with me on a regular, consistent basis. I’m praying for a woman who doesn’t just study scripture, but lives it. I’m praying for a woman who can slap me upside the head with truth. I’m praying for a woman who is feisty when it comes to her relationship with the Lord. I’m praying for a woman who is willing to invest time into my life. To grow with me. To not just talk about God, but to consult his word. I’m praying for a woman who is willing to set aside time in a crazy schedule to study with me.

I’m praying for a woman.

Maybe this is outrageous. Maybe I have unreal expectations. Maybe a woman like this doesn’t exist (this is a lie. I know you’re out there…I’ve met some of you). Maybe she won’t want to do something like this. Maybe she’s already too busy. But maybe, just maybe, she’s not…

I’m praying for a woman.

What are you praying for?

12 thoughts on “I Need a Woman

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I too need a woman. I have a feeling I’m going to find her on Sunday. Seriously. I’m meeting all the other discipleship leaders and I have a hunch my future mentor is going to be at that meeting. At least I hope she is.

    I tried to pursue a mentor last year and it kinda bombed. I asked her out to coffee and then it never worked out and I don’t think she was avoiding me but I still kinda felt like a boy asking a girl out on a date and getting rejected.

  2. I guess I am lucky,my mom does all enumerated for me.We shouldnt underestimate those one who are already in life.May be God wants to put us to the new stage of relationships with them.)

  3. I love this!! You have put it so well. I am also hoping for a mentor. I have asked my church and we will see. I know it is so valuable to be challenged. You have now encouraged me to pray about this as well!

  4. Pingback: Guest Post: I Am a Mom « Mandie Marie

  5. Pingback: I Am a Mom | Tough Bananas

  6. Pingback: A Very Canadian Video |

  7. Pingback: A Very Canadian Video | Amanda Bast

Leave a Reply

